A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

There is an assertion about the pet foods of a company that their food has side effects of vomiting, lethargy and other sign of illnesses. In fact, this statement has several vital missing informations in need to be considered, accordingly, giving up or focusing on investigation of products should be second step decisions after regarding these potential fallacies and explanations.

Firstly, the first explanation for this result is that pets of complaints may be allergic to one of ingredients, followingly, they came up with symptoms of illnesses. In fact, there are many cases, pets are allergic to foods and their owners change brand due to this. To put it another way, there are many allergic issues of pets connected to nutritions besides this situation.

Secondly, they should consider prospect of this being as a strategy of some rivals which accuse them of risky chemicals without any evidence. There are many cases in competitive environments in which firms try to create bad reputation about their products. In fact, this methodology has came widespread recently due to the power of social media. Previously, it is not so easy to pervade some notions, nonetheless, it is viable only by posting something on a website. For instance, there may be %5 spurious complaining comments of clients wherease there are %80 sold ones.

Lastly, last potential fallacy worth to mention is that these pets may be more sensitive or already ill so that these symptoms are not only results of just a product. There is missing information about health controls of these pets. As we know, in animals, illnesses first show themselves with sensitivity or pains in stomache, therefore, there are general signs of any other ongoing health issue.

Besides, before taking any action, they should first investigate health status of these pets in order to ensure that this result is not related to any other illnesses or allergy. Following this they should conduct an elaborated evaluation to measure general rating of their product in the aim of checking trustfulness of these complaints risen.

In conclusion, all these fallacies and missing informations should be taken into account before taking any action. Even numbers and investigations show that there are some mistake in these product, then they should repeat ameliorated and detailed tests.