Question authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of the world.

The assertion that only by questioning accepted wisdom we can advance the understanding of the world is a controversial one. On one hand, questioning accepted wisdom we are able to understand the foundation of that thought or work. On the other hand by questioning it we are doubting the traditional thoughts that are prevailing. However, in the final analysis one should ask questions to widely known norms so that one can get a better understanding of the theory.

Firstly, by going into depth of an existing theory one gets to know the rudimentary principles by which the theory is governed. Now, the maker or the inventor of the theory might have disregarded several theories and would have finally extrapolated a final conclusion to a scientific work. By just accepting it and not going into the core of it one cannot understand it completely-and in this process one tends to asks questions. A Simple example is, a child asking endless queries regarding a well established norm. This helps the child learn basic things and nourishes it for the future. Hence, querying a well established norm helps one to grow and interpret some basic principles.

Secondly, sometimes by inquiring about some know facts one can make new theories. For example, in the IT world everyday new startups are born. All of these startups have one thing in common. They ask a very normal question-”WHY”. They try to break the old traditions and come up with new ones. Artificial Intelligence is one illustration for it. The core of artificial intelligence is to make systems that are capable of replacing humans. This, for me, is a question to the whole huma culture. Why should a human work if computer can replace them. Blockchain is another example for the same. There is no need for a central authority to take part in the transactions going around the world. Hence, one should have doubts about certain believed works and build new theories out of it.

Despite this fact, in certain situations such as the authority of some recognised author or an athlete, one should not cast doubts on the validity of a believed work.

Hence, one can conclude that questioning and getting into the core of a problem can increase our understanding about the world around us.