The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

The statement argues that, often we mistake popularity of a person or a celebrity as a sure indication of their talents and so the actual brilliance of a musician should better be assessed years later. There may be some benefits of doing that, however, it's not quite essential to do so to apprehend the aptitude of a musician, and in many cases it may become unfeasible to do as a result of change in people's preferences.

The first reason why we don't need to wait for an artist's death to assess his talent is because, without any talent he would not be popular among his people. While it's true sometimes, flashy pieces of song get attention of people very easily, it's also true that such music has fugacious value and rarely can make a place in the heart of the people. For example, many remixed songs create buzz among the youngsters. But such songs are easily forgotten as soon as another more catchy one is released. So, if an artist is famous throughout his lifetime, we can safely say that he was talented enough to produce versatile and beautiful composition for a long time period.

The second problem with judging the talent of an artist posthumously is that, the bar of standard changes with time. People have different taste in music today than they had few decades earlier. The musicians used lyrics and language patterns that are completely different from what we use now. On top of that, previously the usage of the very same musical instruments was different from today's one. Not only that, they used different instruments which may be no longer extant. As a result most of the old music seem unrelatable to us and we won't be in the position to appraise its exact talent anymore.

While taste and preferences change from generation to generation, true talent is timeless. A masterpiece of Beethoven still creates the same appeal it did when it was first composed. Marilyn Monroe is still considered as the epitome of beauty and elegance. We barely listen to Symphonies and such music, but that makes these compositions less popular, not less talented. So one may argue that, posthumous assessment of an artist's talent is not unattainable. But the question remains, is that truly necessary?

As the above mentioned facts, it can be said that the real talent of any artist can be studied anytime given the critics are dispassionate in their judgments.