Same national curriculum

The author's idea of having the same curriculum throughout the nation is a contentious one. Both the side of the issue, of having a national curriculum or not having had its advantages and disadvantageous points. I believe having a same national curriculum is beneficial as it brings all the students to the same level. It also provide equal opportunity to all and also prevents discrimination in the society.

The major advantage of having a same national curriculum is that all the students of the nation are at same stage and could compete with a fair ground for the admission in the university. For example, if each student are taught same content in science and maths. The students aiming to go for the science stream will have equal amount of knowledge before giving the university test.

Secondly, the same curriculum also prevents discrimination among the society. People of lower caste or economical background or people from rich families both are given same type of the material to study. Same curriculum also helps to create equal opportunity for all. For example, if the curriculum is not same, it might be the case that the people of lower section won't be able to afford the rich school and the curriculum in the local school might be quite varied. These may lead to more difficulties in the university and furthermore increasing the gap between the rich and the poor.

Moreover, same national curriculum will also encourage people to take their own decision and don't limit the power of imagination to the any one in the society. For example, if a school don't have a music as a subject and other school has, the student from the first school don't have any idea about the procedure to learn music or how to build a career in the musical industry. Hence having a same national curriculum helps to have a correct career choices and opens the gate for non-convectional paths.

However implementing the same curriculum might be quite difficult in the large countries like India where each group , each place has its own culture and tradition. The student studying in one of the south indian states might not be interested to understand or have deep knowledge about the history of north east India and vice-versa. Hence, for large countries like India, the base of curriculum could be same throughout along with the additional subjects to teach about their local tradition.

In conclusion, having a national curriculum until the college will be beneficial for the students of the nation because of the above mentioned points.