Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

People are so busy with their lives, so they tend to ignore any problem until it hit them in their faces. Scandals can act as a wake-up call for profound change and raise people attention on a specific problem more than speakers or reformers can ever do. At the same time, scandals have many negative impacts as well.

Scandals are most common in politics, where most of the people tend to scrutinize the politician's actions, especially in elections time. Mostly, the politicians use scandals as a tool to discredit their opponents. We all remember the scandal of the former president Bill Clinton. The other political party used this scandal to damage Clinton's reputation. Furthermore, years later, when Hillary Clinton ran for the presidential election recently, her opponent used the same scandal against her along with other scandals. Scandals in politics are powerful, people could choose who to elect according to these kinds of information.

While media should help to raise people awareness and focus their attention on problems, all types of media instinctively hunt for the scandals to make stunning headlines and raise their popularity. Most of the time scandals are pompous and fallacious and can destroy innocent people lives. Especially with the pervasive use of social media as a source for news. Anyone can create a fake news and create a scandal to ruin the reputation of individual or institution.

Scandals can raise people awareness regarding the consequences of the wrong-doing. most importantly, if scandals involve people whom they consider a role model. In addition to damaging the reputation of the wrong-doer, also it affects other sides of his life such as; health, family and social life. For instance, Maradona, who is considered for many people as the greatest soccer player of all the time, was addicted to drugs (cocaine), this shocking news for his fans around the world soon affected his career, years later he was unable to play soccer anymore as a result. undoubtedly, this kind of scandal touched the lives of many of his fans and raised their awareness about the deteriorating effects of drugs.

In conclusion, Scandals can focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. However, some scandals affect the lives of people but others are fallacious and aim to ruin the reputation of individuals or institution.