Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals are a way to emphasize the advent of an unexpected happening. This way, they can be very effective on attracting our attention to problems which otherwise we would struggle to realize. However, depending on the way they are presented, some concerns may come up regardin their trustness.

One of the main characteristics of a scandal is that it usually is an explosive news in its essence. That is, a scandal is the occurrence and exposure of an event until then unlikely to happen. When it is related to a famous person, its potention to attract the mass whets. Because of that, sometimes the way a scandal come out to the public brings some doubts about its veracity or its real potention of being what it says it is.

Let’s take an example from the politics. Around the period of the elections is not seldom that a legion of scandals come up regarding the candidates. Sometimes the midia finds out something that can compromise the profile of a runner, other times, the opositors do so. The thing is, until what extent those news can be reliable? Even if they prove to be true, we have to be chary of whether they are germane to influenciate the qualities we expect to find in a candidate. Because they are posed to us in a scandalized manner, maybe we are biased to think according to what the exposer wants us to see.

On the other hand, scandals can be paramount due to the fact they can expose facts related to people of great eminence or notoriety. People that sometimes are intoucheable by the traditional news or who are not impacted by the way common speakers broadcast a subject to an audience. In this way, a scandal can be a strong weapon against those powerful induviduals who consider themselves inscrutable. By not being concerned with formalities or arrangements, they can be effectively draw the attention of the public to a problem stated.

Therefore, when a scandal is used as a tool to gain the public’s attention to a important subject, they can be really benefitial. Conversely, when being used as a weapon to demean other individuals, putting in check their skills or character, we must be alert not to be compromised with biased information.