Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Every single organism living on earth has a significant purpose to serve. Every organism has evolved into the best possible level to survive in its habitat. Deforestation and many other human activities that disrupt the habitat of these organisms should be condemned because no living organism has the right to eradicate another species from the face of Earth. Humans should put in every effort possible to protect the various species existing. Saying that, I am disagreeing with the policy. Be it the human factor or an external factor, maximum effort needs to be placed to save all endangered organisms.

As mentioned above, every single organism is important. Extinction of any species might disrupt the food chains. That might lead to so many possibilities that humans might not even interpret. Tigers are an endangered species. Imagine tigers being extinct. This means there is a significant decrease in predators for many herbivores like deers. This would lead to an extreme rise in deer population that humans might not be able to control. To avoid this, we should be protecting tigers be it endangered by human reasons or by nature’s reasons.

By implementing the above mentioned policy, societies might be ignoring various less known species that are endangered by focusing on the typical examples. This ignorance leads to a loss of a diverse fauna. To elucidate this issue, we can consider the example of sea lives. A lot of focus is on fish being endangered due to plastic waste a very common issue. But many societies are ignorant to the fact that there is also extreme damage being caused to coral reefs. There is not enough effort from the governments to the protection of coral reefs when compared to the efforts made to save fish species.

It sometimes might be inexorable situations where humans are unable to save these endangered species as the environment changes and only those species who can survive that can exist. Survival of the fittest they say. In such conditions it would be a waste of taxpayer money to save such species and should be avoided.