Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In a society where sustainability has become a central theme, to the biotic and abiotic ecosystem, ensuring the continued availability of endangered species should be a responsibility of all and sundry irrespective of the cause of potential extinction of the species. The world has continually been faced with climate challenges, a result of the interplay of actions of humans primarily. With this climate challenge, the world has come to the awareness of the potential danger of the lives of some species not being supported or compatible with the environment. In addressing this issue, I will mostly disagree with the notion that society should only make efforts when the potential extinction of an endangered species is solely as an outcome of human activities.

First of all, the ecosystem is a network of all living and non-living things. For the environment to support all kinds of life, it requires the efforts of the current lives in it. If a particular species of animal is on the verge of extinction, the society should make efforts to ensure that the species survives no matter the cause. For instance, the dinosaurs, which history has given an account of living in the past, have been noted to go into extinction as the environment in which they lived could not support the requirements for these big animals. Despite not living in the current world, the gamut of information that has been added to the evolution of man and life in the past is from the findings studying the remnants of these animals. Imagine having such animals still alive, it is possible that they would have been a window into the previous ages and the culture of the past. A society working for the safety of all its members irrespective of the size is a complete one.

Secondly, Newton noted in one of his laws that for every motion, there is an equal and opposite reaction. This maxim can be applied to this issue. How? By making the society conducive and supportive for every form of life, man is ensuring that there is continuity of human existence. A minute appearance of inertness and fecklessness is enough to cause an opposite reaction in which the nonchalant attitude could cause a spiral motion of incompatibility with life even for humans. Some fishes have been identified as endangered species due to the amount of industrial waste generated by companies and disposed into the habitats of these species. Also, some animals have been identified with possible erasure from records due to the wildlife hunters or outcome of infernos in the forest, for instance, the Amazon Forest. With these events, the former example affects humans by producing impure and unclean water, affecting the quality of life of the people while the latter example produces air pollution and inhalation of particles responsible for lung cancers and other non-communicable diseases.

Finally, some may point out that for animals to go to extinction, it is good for the society, for example, some fire breeding dragons with threat to lives on ground. This feature of such animals has been hypothesized as an adaptability measure to survive. Ensuring the environment is conducive for all life forms will promote harmony and good living among all forms of life.

In conclusion, making the environment conducive for all life forms is a responsibility the society should shoulder without any form of prejudice to any species of animals, especially the endangered species. This is because every life form has its relevance and preserving this functionality is a role to be taken up by the highest form of life, that is, human beings as the custodian of the ecosystem.