Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The speaker asserts that human beings are responsible in front of extinction of other species just in the case that this extinction is a result of human activity. While many may believe it is a logical statement, I think it is our responsibility to save all other species in this world. Because we are all living in a huge ecosystem and if a species is out of the cycle it may harm all of us. Moreover, as human beings are conquering the world and doing whatever they want, we cannot be sure that even the rarest cause of species extinction is not due to our activities. Thus, humans should make effort to save all of endangered species.

First, we should know that our world is a big ecosystem and every species is a member with certain roles. Thus, if a member of the ecosystem is omitted direct and indirect consequences may harm other members. That is to say it is not important if the extinction is result of human activities or not, we should save the endangered species for saving the whole ecosystem. For instance, suppose a condition that a special tree is endangered, If we say that we are not responsible for its cause and don’t care for it, that tree may get destroyed forever. That’s while that tree may be house of many other species. Its fruits perhaps are foods for other animals. Moreover, the animals that live on it may be foods for other predators. Therefore, its extinction may result in extinction or at least harming of other animals. That is to say, human beings, as the most talented species of the ecosystem should care about problems of the ecosystem.

Second, in some cases it is possible that if we do not care for extinction of species the issue which caused the extinction gets stronger and threatens the whole ecosystem. Thus in many cases it is important to find the extinction root and destroy it in order to save the ecosystem. For example, when Avian influenza got viral and many birds were getting destroyed we could just don’t care about the situation and think the virus is not result of human activities. However, scientists searched to invent a medicine for it. That's because although the virus was not developed by human activities, it was a disease which could fly with birds. That bird could fly from continent to continent and make that disease epidemic in whole world. Moreover, avian influenza is not just for birds and the virus may permeate in human's body. Thus, if we do not care about extinction of those birds it may even lead to extinction of human beings.

However, some people may believe that if human beings are not responsible for a change its devise of the mother nature and we shouldn't do anything about it. Furthermore, they may say it is harmful for nature if human beings interfere with these types of extinction. That may seem canny at first glance. However, this question rises that how can we prove that humans are not responsible for a type of extinction? Since we are conquering the world and our population is about 8 billion who are living in every point of the earth with a vast range of activities it is possible that we do not understand consequences of our activities. That is to say, maybe at first it seems that we are not responsible for an occurrence. Nevertheless, after researches it is possible that we understand that occurrence had happened due to our activities. In this case we can refer to the creditable rule called chaos law which says a butterflies flattering in Singapore may result a hurricane in California. Therefore, those who believe we shouldn’t interfere with laws of mother nature should consider that we are doing different activities that we ourselves may not know about their consequences.

To sum it up, while it may seem that some extinctions are not resulted by our activities we are responsible for saving other species. That’s because we are the conquering species of the earth and we should save the equilibrium of the ecosystem. Moreover, in many cases the cause of an extinction may cause extinction of human beings. Furthermore, as our knowledge is not complete it is possible that after many years we recognize that cause of an extinction was our activities. Thus, human beings are responsible of extinction of other species whether we are responsible for creating that extinction or not.