Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.Write a response in which you disc

Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leadership demands both, competitiveness and cooperation, these are two sides of a coin. The value of coin is nothing if any of its side is missing. Similarly, a good leader has to have competitive skills and should be able to work in co-operation at different fronts. But it is not possible to practice both approaches at the same time, it completely depends on situation. If any leader is being pressured from senior or more powerful bodies, he has to wait for the right time to get what is desired. There are several more factors emphasizing that presence of both qualities is a prerequisite for being a successful leader.

To begin with, being competitive is the fundamental quality of successful leader. Lacking the required competitiveness can effect one's position badly and may result in getting replaced by other competitors. For an instance, as soon as the Tata Industries of India found out that current Chairman Mr. Cyrus Mistry is not performing up to the mark, he was replaced by the former chairman himself. Therefore, consistent performance and competition is vital for any leader in any field government, or private.

Moreover, not being able to cope up with fellow and senior workers can create problems in more than expected ways. It is necessary to consider problems that people are facing. If any leader works with an attitude which is concerned only with the well being of subordinates or self, he might be ignoring the problems that senior officers might be facing. And soon enough he might be standing isolated, fighting for ideas that might not materialize. Take for an example, if an employee union leader stands adamant for laborers' increments, without considering that their company is not making any profits to fulfill union's demands, he will be ousted soon.

On the other hand, people might say that a leader can only be competitive or co-operative, but it is not necessary. As most of us have observed in our day to day life, that the approach absolutely depends on present circumstances. Sometimes we have to be adamant and sometimes we have to be magnanimous.

Conclusively, a good leader will be shrewd in his judgement. Sagacious leaders understand the situation subtly and adapt their approach accordingly.