Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Although every company aims to be profitable, it must however also invest in developing the society and the environment.

Many corporations are dependent on the society and environment to provide workforce and resources such as power, water, land etc., Investing in providing basic facilities and improving can be helpful for the company itself in the future. For example, Infosys decided to invest 300 crore rupees to help the government build a metro station in front of their campus in Bangalore. Though some may consider it as a wasteful spend of money, it may, however, benefit Infosys in the long term. Infosys currently spends a lot of money in providing private transportation of their employees. With the metro train, the company can cut down it's spending on transport and encourage employees to use the metro train instead.

In a few rare occasions, the company must consider humanitarian grounds instead of the focusing on business. Recently, Uber was criticized severely for operating cabs with surge pricing during emergencies. Utilizing this opportunity, the rival company Lyft started a campaign which brought a lot of negative publicity and loss of revenue. Hence, companies must consider humanitarian grounds when doing business.

Nothing is free in the world. The company has to spend lots of money to make a difference in the society. For a company X which is struggling to meet its revenue and costs, responsibility to maintain the well being of the society can be a burden.

Sometimes, there will be issues and the company has to take a side and can have negative publicity. Political parties and politicians may be offended by the stand and the company may be faced with trouble by the party. For example, Let us consider the widening of a road which requires a lot of trees to be cut.

Overall, companies are obligated to help in developing the society and environment but must make their choices carefully depending on their financial and social situation.