Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

For art to be relevant its needs to be vocal against all sort of oppression and should challenge the prevailing tresnd. Its not that its challenges only the present political power or the social elite but also challenge prevailing norm in art itself. So art has to be independent and so is the artist.

But we know the whole idea of independence is illusive. The present debate also stand on the same presumption that government spending in art can necessarily provide government the upper hand in regulating it. So does that mean that if art is not funded by the government it won't be regulated. If someone say yeas to this then we need to answer what is the source of the money that will enable the artist to work. Especially, when we consider, cinema which need a significant amount of moneuy for its production. Then we ought to ask where that money comes from. So if the money comes from the private company or production house will they allow the filmmaker to make a film that goes against their interest. The answer we all are aware of. Thus the primary reason to oppose government funding is based on the fact that art should not be regualted. OIn the past we have seen such set up where filmmaker like Goddard have worked on government funding to make films that is critical of the society as well as the fresnch political system. Thus, in a democratic system where freedom of expression is an important component art can well be funded by government yet remain free from its control.

The other assumption the first position makes is that if government funds a artistic production it will be available to people. While its partly true but then availability is also has to do with accessibility to a certain heightened thought. The word, heightened thought, mainly emphasizes on the fact that people should be ready to take the jolting experience when a certain art shakes their view point. Then we have seen this does not come so easily, like Satyajit Ray's workl was not well accepted in India, as people could not understand his work other than Feluda (a detective story). Satyajit Ray's contemporray, Ritwik Ghatak's work was even more neglected due to its groundbreaking nature. The conciousness of the auadience was not enough to take this films which challenged their sensibilities.Thus government funding could not ensure that they became available to the people, they remained illusive and so uncomfortable that they were ignored.

The government regualation has at times meant that works are highly regulated. As it happened with the Film DIvision of India, which was once the largest documentary making st up but failed as the government did not allow them to make documentaries that were crtiical of the government. People found it least relevant after the Emergency being declared as it worked as the government propaganda unit. This very failure of the Film Division led the later documentary makers like Anand Patwardhan to make politically critical documentary, which looked at Indian society and politics from critical lens, to work independently.

Hence art should be independent, if the artist should opt for the funding that allows them to better express themslves. As Ghatak said once, "Art Should be beautiful, above that it should be truthful."