Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

The arts have been studied for eons. They bring new knowledge to light and are crucial to a society's development.

The government is usually involved in funding projects that pertain to the greater good of the citizens as a whole. This includes projects to improve electricity supply, projects to build dams that can store more water in times of drought, real estate projects for making better airports, etc. These projects affect a large number of citizens at once and operate at scales that would be difficult for private companies to operate at.

I believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people.

Private companies always operate with a business goal and sales objectives in mind. All of their actions are taken to bring them closer to their goal. I believe if private companies take over the business of funding the arts, they would do it only if it serves their ultimate agenda. The corollary of this is that the arts that is tangential with respect to the company agenda or downright opposed, would not get funding and hence will not flourish.

The very fabric how companies operate, thus, necessitates that the government fund the arts to ensure that all arts can flourish The motivation of the arts should not affect whether they get public visibility or not.

However, this would work only if the government itself does not have an agenda to censor the arts. Democracies score better in this area and are less likely to censor such content. However, autocracies and theocracies are a different case altogether. For instance, consider an Islamic theocracy. Theologists who might debate and question about some aspects of the Islamic religion might not be welcome in society and would be systematically removed and their work expurgated. In such a society, government funding would be analogous to funding from private companies - directed towards an ultimate agenda in mind, where the agenda is motivated by the needs of the government/company and not the people.

To conclude, I do believe that governmnt funding is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and available to everyone. However it is also crucial to realize that in some government funding can actually have the opposite effect of curtailing the availability of the arts to the general populace.