Some people believe that our ever-increasing use of technology significantly reduces our opportunities for human interaction. Other people believe that technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with one another.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Technology has brings us new tools for communication, such as instant messages, but also lots of distractions from interaction, which includes competitive social environment and other entertainments. Thus, to fully evaluate two arguments, we could first list some of their reasons and then make comparisons between advantages and disadvantages.

True, techonology development does reduce communicaton because it is more expensive, and less necessary. First, the high pace of life engendered by the advance of technology makes people occupied and possess less disposal time. People could earn money if they spend the time they used to communicate to work. What is more, actually they have to work diligently to keep employed. The high time cost reduces the chance for people to communicate.

Second, before the arrival of information era, it is primarily through face-to-face communication that people convey messages and inform others. However, the needs does not exist now. People could be informed by all kinds of mass media, including televisons, newspapers and social platform. People thus have less incentive to communicate since the talking with each other, which is the traditional method of garner information, become increasingly inefficient.

However, Some may argue that use of technology helps us communicate in the following ways. First, with the development of information technology, it is easier to acquire information from others. The multifarious mass social platform such as Facebook and Tweet equip us with instant messages; the e-mails and instant messages provide us with tools to break through the geographical distance to inform others in minutes. However, consider that in the middle age, people can only turn to letters for communication in long distance. Thus,it seems that the only thing changed is the form of communication, we do not rely on the close distance or letters to communicate. The technology facilitates the interaction.

What is more, though distraction on the Internet such as computer games and videos could occupy people's time, it is primarily the personal qualities that should take the responsibility for declining interaction with others. What the technology does is to provide human beings with more convenience and possibilities to talk with others. In addition to that, technology also offers people with various entertainments. The choice ultimately lies on the preference and dispositions of the individual. Thus we cannot say that technology reduces interaction among people.

Granted that technology enhances communication in some ways, to fully evaluate the boons and banes, it is better to reflect on the definition of interaction before reaching the conclusion. Interaction equals not only acquiring information and facts, but a social way to understand each other, to cultivate a friendship or intimacy, to make each other feel happy and enriched. In this sense, what technology brings about, which is brand new communication tools, generally lack such relationships. People simply enter the words and sentences into the cold machine and get those out of the machine. But in real life, communication includes a simple gesture, a knowing smile, a gracious hug, an exaggerated tone. All these are integral elements for an effective communication. Hence, the drawbacks technology brings about far outweigh its superficial convenience.