Some people believe that success in creative fields, such as painting, fiction writing, and filmmaking, primarily requires hard work and perseverance. Others believe that such success mainly requires innate talents that cannot be learned.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

Despite innate talents can shorten the way to success, without hard working, even a genius can lose the glow of his or her talent. Therefore, I believe that success in creative fields mainly require hard work and perseverance, and innate talent is just to make the whole process faster.

While people are reading biographies of most great artists, they may notice one common characteristic between these great artists, that is they all had innate talent when they were young. For example, in Mozart's story, he composed his first symphony when he was 8 years old. And the other instance is Saint Saëns- a French composer- who also created his first symphony when he was a teenager. It is true that all of these well-known artists have special talents that could make them famous during their early life time. With innate talents in their fields, it is easier for them to get familiar with their skills and fields. Like a music composer who has absolute hearing, it may be easier for him or her to understand the structure of music, and to compose their own music.

However, merely having innate talent cannot decide whether a person will succeed or not. To be successful in any given field, even genius have to work hard to achieve it. Like the instances above, Mozart had to start practicing playing piano for hours everyday since he was four years old to keep him being familiar with playing piano. Without regularly practice, the muscle memory may disappear along the time pass. And a person who dose not have outstanding innate quality can compensate it with diligent practice. A psychological study published in 1993 from psychologist K. Anders Ericsson found that the innate talent that most people believe that exists is just the result of more than 10 years of intense practice, and individual difference is not the decisive factor to make a person become expert in his or her field.

In conclusion, although innate talent may play a role that decide the learning process and duration of a person, individual differences cannot decide a person's success. But hard work and perseverance can decide if a person would succeed in his or her field. Therefore, I believe that hard work and perseverance play more decisive roles in deciding whether a person can be successful or not.