Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility

The issue states that the sports star and movie stars should fulfill their responsibility of being role models for the young people who look up to them. Although, hastily one might see this as a fair statement. This has many flaws as we dive deeper in the issue.

All people have their right to live freely without bondage from anybody else. Why should this not be the case for the sports stars and the movie stars? They should not be exceptions to this liberty. These stars, whatever they do, they do it for themselves. Sachin Tendulkar plays cricket because he likes the game or Amitabh Bachhan acts because he enjoys doing this job. And no were in their job agreements it is mentioned that they also have an extra responsibility of being a role model to the young people.

They are paid for doing their jobs and not for being role models. It's because of their talents and their skills that they have reached such great heights. Amitabh Bachhan struggled a lot in his early carrier. But he did not give up and because of his own perseverance he is a super star. Sachin gave hours and hours of practice in cricket. And evidently his hardwork repayed. These stars are paid for providing entertainment to the people and they are bound to do nothing more than that.

On the contrary the onus should be on the young people. They are responsible for who they look up to as their role models and what all do they inculcate from them. It's on their part to imbibe the good qualities and leave the ones that are not required. Seeing a movie star smoking or bunking a class or disrespecting elders in a scene should not be taken as a motivation for doing the same. The movie stars are bound by the scripts on which they are acting. The young minds should rather learn from the hardwork and the sincerity by which they movie stars and sports star do they job. The determination of these stars should inspire them to be a better human.

As every coin has two sides, this issue is also no exception to it. Although, the stars are not legaly bound to any contract of being role models. They are very much aware of the their fame and also the fact that how many people closely follow them. So they should be prudent in what they are showcasing. Otherwise it might be possible that some fan without giving much thought, might just blindly follow the star and end up learning a bad quality.

So from the above arguements it is clear that these stars have their own personal life and imposing a restriction of their life is not the best solution to the issue.