The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Country’s main element is its people. Due to eminent people in certain fields, country can able to make a glorious position among all others, but it is inane to measure the greatness of country only on the basis of these few personalities. Progress in education, economy, health situation, per capita income, all as a whole depicts a broad perspective in considering a nation as a great one.

Food, clothes and shade for living are three primary requirements of a man. So, country should first take care of these basic requirements to step forward in building a great nation. Education gives power of knowledge and can help people to achieve their jobs with satisfactory salary; moreover a nation can prosper in the field of technology, research, invention only with the help of education. Similarly, if most of the country’s people are below poverty level, then it impedes the progress of the nation as nation has to look after this matter with more importance than to invest in technology or research. For example, in US low unemployment, low poverty line people, high number of educated people creates a favourable climate for advanced research and inventions, whereas in Afghanistan, due to lack of proper education, jobs etc. many people incline to join in terrorist groups and this turmoil situation averts the progress of the country.

But we can’t totally ignore the achievements of artists, scientists and other successful persons. Scientists devote themselves in discovering new gadgets, medicines as an elixir to diseases, technologies – all these ease our lives by saving time, reducing effort and energy. So, these attainments can accelerate the progress and development of a country. Sometimes, scientists discover technologies and medicine which can be managed with low cost paving the path for low income group to afford these for their necessities. But it is also true that without certain per capita income of people these achievements don’t play a role for welfare of country’s general welfare. When people find difficulty even in supporting their minimum requirement, use of advanced technologies, gadget is totally lavish for them.

Thus, in a nutshell, general welfare surely acts as an indicator for a great nation, but we can’t neglect the contributions of famous people for their country.