The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A great country is the unity of various people of different cultures, living together with collaboration and peace. The topic rasies a controversial issue of whether the greatness of a country is determined by the general people or else only successful people of the country could determine it. Although, most of the countries are only known for their present tradition and culture and not for their past disasters, there were some rulers, scientists, artists etc. who made great impact to the society so that they can remember them from decades. Thus, a country or nation is best known from the people who are currently living there as well as the other great people who had achieved a huge success in their life so that people can remember them for years.

First of all, every nation has different kinds of people living together and they define the culture of that nation. For example, America has a variety of people from different countries who came there for better education or for better job opportunities. This claims that America has great education and technology means with respect to other countries. Furthermore, the countries like japan is best known from their recovery from disasters, since they've recovered from various disaster including the nuclear attack at Hiroshima and Nagasaki which was the most internecine disaster happend in Japan. There is a great saying from a well known leader Abrahim Lincon, that a country is of the people, by the people and for the people, which clearly asserts that a country is determined by its people.

Consequently, some countries are also known for their leaders and other well known people whether they're good or bad. For example, Germany is a well developed country and many people remember that country for the cruelty of Hitler, who was considered to be amongst the most cruel leaders in the human history. Furthermore, another countries like India is known form the great people like Mahatma Gandhi, who had overthrown the whole british empire without even a bit of violence. Now a days, countries and nations are known from the great players like Cristano Ronaldo from Portugal, who was infatuated by many people across the world for their football skills. Hence, some people achieved the greatness by people so that they can determine their country.

At last, people are tempted towards the nation because of their culture, their food, their nature and so on. Consequently, these things are defind by the people of the country. For example, chinese food is an attraction to many food lovers and due to that people remember china for their food. Presumably, the chinese food is demonstrated by the chinese people throughout the world, hence ultimately it's people who indicate their nation.

Although the public of a country defines it, the great people also have the ability to represent their country. As long as some measurements are done, the great people are nothing but the ordinary people at some time who have thought in a tangential way to achieve sucess so that they can represent their country.