The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Instead of comparing the two indicators about which is better. I think both of them are good indicators for a nation. While the general welfare of its people is indisputable the most important indicator of a great nation, its rulers, artists, or scientists can provide a higher level achievement that represents the power of a nation.

For each country, the people’s life quality, economic stability, environmental status should be put in the first place of the country’s missions. If the governments do not provide the general welfare to people, the country will not be stable to live. After the general welfare is provided well, the next step of the government is to improve its development in higher-level areas, such as art, science, technology… etc. That is an ideal model for any good government that takes its people into the first concerned welfare.

If any government does not take this order of achievements of the country into account, it will be a tragedy for the people in the country. For example, the North Korea communist government does not put the general welfare of its people in the first place. Instead, the government is proud of the unclear weapon produced by their national weapon institution. They shoot the weapon experimentally several times to present the power of their nation, while lots of people in their country are suffering from hunger and poverty. It is such a shame for the government.

To sum up, people’s general welfare should be treated as the first mission of a country, when the stability and prosperity are pervaded in the whole country, it is the time that the government can pursue the higher-level achievement of its rulers, artists, or scientists. That will be the best strategy for all humankind.