In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports ( swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

According to the statement, Mason city requires a modified budget where the city government will have more emphasis on the investment of riverside recreational facilities. To make the statement valid some assumptions are placed mentioning the residents preference of water sports as recreational activities. In addition, residents complaints as to the quality and smell of water. has been considered as a reason to invest with assurance of having more water sports in future . There are some problems in correlating with the above logics with efficient budget decision.

Residents preference of water sports does not reflect their choice of the Mason River as their sporting spot. They may not prefer river as their sporting point. They may use indoor facilities for their recreational activities. Due to the risk of life, specially for children they may go for other options available rather than river.

Complaints regarding quality of water and the smell do not correlate the reasoning of the Mason river as potential spot for recreational activities. Residents may think these correlate the reasoning of the Mason river as potential spot for recreational activities. Residents may think these complaints necessary for health risk.

Moreover, there is no relation between less budget for recreational activities in maintaining riverside recreational facilities with residents complaints. As residents did not mention budget issue in their complaints.

In addition, there is no solid evidence exists that can compensate the extra budget as effective decision to increase riverside recreational activities. There may have another spots or river to trat water sports. Due to the risk factor residents may prefer comparatively safe place rather than river.