Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Giving the complexity of teaching profession, educators involved in the industry carry different mission on their shoulders, thus, there shouldn’t be a single scale to measure how they should be compensated. While most teachers are advocate to the halo and virtue of dedicating to groom and inspire the future generation, some believed that they should be paid based on their capability to help students in achieving higher credentials. I conceded that academic merits are good mean to measure the reward for teacher if grading is the only goal that the institutions are aiming for. Otherwise, teachers should be paid according to the key performance index constructed by the institution.

First of all, we shall consider when academic performance is too trivial to be measured, such as those in kinder garden and elementary schooling. Commonly, elementary institutions, instead of seeking exquisite teaching credentials, favor candidates who can delegate persona as being patience, compassion and enthusiastic to work with young kids. Therefore, when it comes to setting up their salary range, it should be aligned with the pre-set criteria for employment. By that I mean teacher’s compensation should be founded on their potency to aspire interest and provide a productive learning environment. However, we could see that the paradigm is shifting, conspicuously in Asia. In order to ensure the competitiveness of their children even at very young age, Asian parents prevail academic performance over passions and interests, which I strongly oppose to.

Considering the issue in the context where academic performance does become essential for student to advance in their higher education or professional career, I still disagree with the proposition of defining wage range based on students’ performance. When it comes to higher education, teaching is less likely to be the sole task while lecturers are probably assigned with handful of responsibilities. Let’s take a look at an example of a standard KPI (Key Performance Index) system in Malaysian tertiary sector. Besides preparing and conducting daily lecture, the teachers are mandated to participate in research project, help organize workshops and conferences, as well as securing a number of publications. With such complex matrix of work scheme, expecting them to focus merely on accelerating students’ performance is implausible as students are mature enough to motivate themselves. Conspicuously, it is unfair to decide how much they should be compensated just by this single mean.

On the other hand, some might argue that teacher’s salary should be directly proportional to the student’s performance as they believe money could act as motivator for better teaching quality, thereby better learning result. However, it has never been the case as academic proficiency is the output of combined effort from both teachers and students. The best example we could refer to is of public university, where teacher’s compensation is meager to start with, are still able to produce graduates of high merits. The logic behind is that most students admitted to public institution are survivors of rugged selection schemes, who are autonomous and self-motivating to acquire knowledge themselves. Therefore, by adjusting the teacher’s compensation, we shall expect not much variation in terms of student’s learning performance.

In summary, as I cogently argue above, teacher’s salary should not be weighed merely on the student’s academic performance but other measures are to be taken in to account as well.