True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We have been hearing this from our childhood that without proper goals, planning and execution one cannot achieve the heights of success. Indeed, success is relative term and on amateur level it may be relative to completion of goals one set for themselves. However, we as a conscious and social creature, the definition of true success has been scaled up to one’s ability to contribute to the society at extraordinary level in various forms. Hence, I feel that considering only goals to be a measure of true success will provide justifications to other factors which affects the success of individuals in our society.

There are billions of people living right now and they all align plan their goals in life and try to achieve it at whatever scale they can, but- the question is how many of these people are considered successful? Not many compared to people living right now, only handful of people are considered successful for example Steve Jobs for building Apple, Elon Musk for building Tesla etc. These people took something considered as bad investment and turned into something which is not considered visionary tools. Nobody took electric vehicle seriously before Tesla launched their electric vehicle and same happened with personal computing, nobody thought that personal computing could become the largest market of computing in future before Steve jobs. The point I am trying to make here is that: the people who broke the stereotype, went maverick, hounded their visions relentlessly and finally affect the world in a way no other person had affected are considered truly successful. If these people just had simply goals and did not had the courage to actually pursue their goals with firm determination then we might have not even known them.

I strongly feel that the collective goal of we as a society is more important than our personal goals if we truly would like to measure the success. We consider Nelson Mandela, Mahatma Gandhi, Einstein as successful souls and mourns on their demise days because they showed us and walked through the path nobody wanted to take and were capable of helping others in their fields. The first two fought for a cause which were collective goals of their society. If had not been the collective goals, I doubt people would have considered them as true successful personalities.

Just setting goals and not planning it diligently or executing it with determination will put these goals on indefinite hold. Planning and executions are as important as the goal itself. Most of startup in Silicon Valley die because people focus more on their objective and agenda and less on comprehensive planning and execution.

In conclusion, to become truly successful one should consider the above-mentioned argument and should consider planning and execution to be as important as one’s goals itself.