To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The idea that the most important characteristics of a society can be understood by studying only the main cities is a very loose and unexplained statement.

The "major cities" are only the tip of the iceberg, as most societies are extremely diverse in order to be judged only on the basis of the cities which have the highest population, technological advancement, ethnicity, etc. To add to this, the lifestyle of people living in places other than major cities is completely different in most cases, and an analysis based only on the major cities will not hold good. For example, people living in coastal rely on fish and coconuts for food as they live close to the sea, and also, they are involved in activities like fishing, imports and exports, coast guarding, etc for a livelihood, whereas people living in hilly regions rely on plants and wildlife found in mountains and work as tea leaf cultivators, tourist managers, etc. Cities that are not yet classified as "Major" are becoming extremely powerful cities in their own right. For example, Coimbatore, a city in Tamil Nadu, India, has been transforming from an underdeveloped city to a flourishing educational and industrial hub.

However, if one tours the major cities of a society, he/she will get a clear picture of the rate at which a society is burgeoning. Analyzing places classified as "major cities" will definitely help one identify the rate of growth and development of a society. Studying major cities in countries where the populace per area is less will give the surveyor and idea on what is happening in the society. For example, in countries like Germany, an analysis on cities such as Berlin, Dusseldorf, Hamburg, etc. has given many people an idea as to how Germany's current position is, and also the state and rate of development of its societies.

Thus, even though a study on major cities can reveal great deal, they may or may not be the basis for judging the most important characteristics of a society, as it depends on the situation and varies from place to place.