To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In a world occupied by social animals like humans, cities are the place where one can actually understand the ways of the society and the people constituting it.

The characteristics of a society is more or less, the ideas or the rules that govern the people in a sophisticated environment. What place is better than the cities for this purpose? one can find a multitude of individuals, who are diverse in economy, status of living, occupation, ethnicities, languages, further more, are found to dwell in these cities. Since, such a diversity is prominent in cities, it gives a viable means to study and understand the characteristics of society.

On the other hand, this diversity itself can confound the observer, since he/she are in need of observing a society being a part of it. The observation made, may also be biased by the predilections the observer have, due to his/her experience being in a similar city.

So, by considering the above points one cannot actually come to a firm standing that, studying the major cities is enough to understand a society.