To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

Important characteristics of a society refer to a whole lot of its aspects like cultural, financial, religious, social, dietary and eating habits and many more. Rather than studying the major cities, it will be more beneficial to study the towns and villages as an ensemble to know and understand a society due to the reasons and scenarios as mentioned.

Major cities, due to their vast job and livelihood opportunities, attract various kinds of people from all across the corners of the society. While this might result in cities consisting of people from various cultures, they will eventually start accustoming to the new urban culture in rather short while in order to cope up with the fast paced city neighbourhood. Consequently, the actual outset of the people living will be belied and often will be different from their origin cultures. Furthermore, they even start to develop new habits which are a blend of their innate and the new urban styles.

Moreover, cities with their congested and often commercial outlook will dampen the pastoral cultures gradually and eventually resulting in none whatsoever. People often get trapped in the factitious lifestyle often foregoing their previous cultural habits. Such a transition by means is to be blamed on anyone for that matter; it is just the way things turn out. There are however some exceptions to this and can be ignored for statistical purposes.

Additionally, the financial statuses of people in cities are more idiosyncratic and often disparate. Most of the working and earning class of cities with middle range income often consider cities to be a temporary location and thereby live with a entirely different status as they are originally capable of and are back in their native areas. Further, such middle range class constitute most of the urban population adding to the false imagery of characteristics of a society. Studying the social aspects will also be a biased study since cities with their humongous population and vehicles is simply a mammoth job to maintain the social infrastructures such as roads, parks and even the air quality and the concerning authorities often shirk in them and this clearly is not the actual characteristics of the society.

On the other hand, if towns and villages are considered as an ensemble, the characteristics of society can be patent with people living there having a more stable and free lifestyle. As a result, the local cultures and rituals preserve and flourish. Even the financial status won’t differ much among people from a particular town or village; the local infrastructures are well maintained due to the ease of handling. All these scenarios reinforce the perspective that studying towns and villages would be a more worthwhile to discern a society.