To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To understand the characteristics of a society, one needs to learn about the lifestyle of its people both in cities and villages. Civilization and modern technology adorns city life which often belies the true nature of that society whereas village is the place where native people practice their distinct culture and tradition throughout generations. Following this fact, I moderately disagree with the above statement which emphasizes on studying city life for two reasons.

First of all, the lifestyle, occupation, customs etc. make a distinction between city dwellers and villagers. Village people earns their livelihood mostly by agricultural works or other primitive occupations like fishing, farming and so on. Thus the ancient history of a society can be learnt by observing villagers’ activities, beliefs and tradition. Many villagers still today hold many rituals which might seem illogical to outsiders but they practice this type of custom passionately. So, if a scholar aiming to know about a society, focuses only cities, he will definitely miss the root of that society’s culture.

Another fact is that, cities are generally designed and constructed under proper supervision often guided by modern technology from another foreign country. Say for example, the cities in USA today were developed by the British and it doesn’t represent the characteristics of native red indian society. Modern city life of America is completely different from that of indigenous people. This example refutes the statement and explains how it is important to study about the native life also.

However, study of cities can’t be denied at all, since evidence of ancient buildings and structure indicates to the glorious history of the society and also helps to understand the impact of that society on innovative technology. So, I moderately disagree with the statement to study the major cities only rather would like to suggest to focus on traditional native life also.