To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

There are a number of factors in determining the characteristics of a society. The life of people there, their culture, tradition, quality of education, healthcare facilities, standard of living and so on play a vital role in determining the characteristics of a city. According to the author, to understand these characterisitcs one must study the major cities of a country. However, in my view to account for the entire nation based on only major cities do not determine how the entire the country is.

Each city in the world has its own set of traditions, languages spoken, varied cuisines and many more distinctive factors. So to only judge a country based on its few cities would be unfair to the lesser-known cities and would conceal the characteristics of these unpopular cities from the entire world. There is a famous saying that ' A book should not be judged only by its cover'. The same thing applies to this prompt. Drawing conclusions by looking at only a few cities do not really help in deciding the fate of entire country. It is the people from all parts of that country, from popular and lesser-known cities that help in determining the important characteristics.

For instance consider the example of the boxing champion from India Mary Kom. She comes from a place which is known to a very few people in India. For she has achieved gold for India in the Olympics, and through her worldwide popularity now, the people have begin recognizing the place where she comes from. All this years the North East of India was a scarcely known place and a place which one has never heard off. Similary, for us to understand the important characteristics, along with the major cities, the lesser known cities must also be given equal importance to understand the characteristics of a society.

To conclude, I would like to say that all cities bring together a unique perspective in determining the nature of a society. The total review of a society whether good or bad, is determined only by exploring the whole country and not only by looking at its major cities.