Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Appealing images of beauty and esthetically pleasing sounds, sights and smells are timeless and intertwined into the human experience. Examples throughout history are art, architecture, and cosmetics. We can all acknowledge that modern society has accentuated trends with technology and an expanded understanding of what makes something esthetically pleasing. However, the trends of today are rooted in the long march of the human experience throughout time.

Beginning with Art, we can clearly see the importance of the human need to create pleasing sights for all to see. If one was to look at the Egyptian hieroglyics, one would see pictures of men and women of accentuated beauty and ornate pictures of animal gods and goddesses. Over 2,000 years ago humans were striving to depict beauty. Travel forward in time to the renaissance. The human form is depicted in raw form. Naked statues of Alexander and others are formed by artist. These depictions are not of the average man. They are of an idealized man. An ideal the average man strived for. Art strives for pleasing forms to present ot the human need to better than what we are.

The human need to better than we are is translated into our need to present a more appealing or please version of ourselves to others. Cosmetics have been the primary way humans have painted a more appealing version of our self for others to see. If we were to examine Art we we would see men and women covered in products hid their vanity. During Queen Elizabeth’s rule, she painted her face with charcoal and pastels to present a pale, but youthful presentation. Many of the men in France during the same time would wear wigs and paint their face to show a more elegant and youthful appearance. An appearance that was intend to appeal to others.

Arts and individual beauty is not the only area we humans have strived for an appealing image. We do so with inanimate objects such as food and physical structures. The French and Japanese culinary arts emphasis both taste and especially presentation. French culinary arts encourage use of sauces to create contrasting and please colors on the plate. Japanese culinary arts encourage simplicity and relative proportion that are please to the eye from a distance. Architecture from the time of the Catholic church emphasized appealing and ornate chapels to welcome worshipers and praise god’s grace upon them. The rules of architecture esthetic beauty can be seen in today’s corporate headquarters that welcome employees and pay homage to the gods of commerce.

We must soundly disagree that the yearning for an appealing image is a facet of the present. It is instead nested in the human experience. An experience that can be seen throughout time in art, cosmetics and other areas such as culinary arts and architecture. Today is no different than the past.