"Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image."

The statement contends that creating an appealing image in modern society has become more important than the truth behind it. I concede with it as everyone wants to appear attractive, happy and wealthy to mantain a reputable image in the society even if they have to deceit others into believing that.

With the technological advances came internet and social media and along with it started the rat race to appear wealthy and happy all the time. A clear example can be seen when hardly anyone posts about their struggles but evryone boasts about their achievements. Abundant media articles about celebrities buying houses, cars, going on vacations are published everyday but hardly any about their struggles, which is a clear proof that people are only interested if you are successful. This encourages people to mantain an appealing image even at the cost of their mental health.

Humans are social creatures. So, the constant urge to fit in has made almost everyone at some point in their life do something that they didn’t like just because others were doing it. Politicians give promises and expectations to people even when they know those cannot be fulfilled just for winning. They mantain a generous, philanthropic image for their own selfish gains.

In general, I agree with the statement as with time, the notion of being percieved by others as successful has become more important than actually being successful. People are directed towards doing things for the sake of fitting in which has in turn resulted in deterioration of mental health.