UNiversities

Universities and schools are the places where a nation builder is made. Universities are the major turning points in any one's life. The prompt suggests that a university education should encompass all aspects required for becoming an ideal student. I mostly agree with the prompt for the following three reasons.

Universities and schools are like moulds shaping the students. So it becomes the responsibility of the university to shape the students in a way that they will go on and become a true trial blazer. The job of the university is to transform the naive and ingenuous students to an ideal citizen. By only teaching the academics and not providing exposure to outside knowledge a student cannot develop his or her personal skills. so it becomes the responsibilty of the university to teach the valuable life lessons along with the intended specialization. Arts are the great medium for universities to teach these lessons.

When a student wants to develop intellectually and personally, arts are considered to be the great teachers. One can discover their inner talent and their true potential by practicing the arts. Apart from the regular courses arts provides a wide variety of skills which help the students to succeed in the real-life. It also develops the ability appreciate the nuances of other's work. For instance, a student specialized in computer science can only be able to appreciate or recognize the work of a fellow computer scientist. But by learning the arts, one will be able to recognize the subtle differences between two similar kinds of works. Arts are not only useful because of their distinguishing skills, arts make a person recognize one's own strengths.

However, deep knowledge on the courses may also deviate the students from their intended career paths. Sailing on two boats at a time is risky and hazardous. If interested one should consider pursuing arts even without enforcement by the university. By exploring through the broad spectrum of the liberal arts, one can be lost forever. The case with the arts is that the more one studies arts the more complex it gets.

One may argue that the, if interested the student himself of herself, should pursue all the courses for their betterment. But students are not connoisseurs to take decisions by themselves. So a true school has this quality of guiding the students in the correct path. In my opinion, pursuing the arts will certainly help students and s true university should always encourage students to enroll in these courses. But at the same time it is difficult to say that the university should enforce this strictly on the students.