Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Many universities have started to include open-electives in their coursework. This ‘open-elective’ can be from other departments as well. This addition of extra courses outside the student’s field of study helps the student in many ways. I mostly agree that universities should encourage students to take courses outside their department for three reasons.

The students at universities are already burdened with copious courses and adding an extra course outside the field of study might put students under more stress. The students might not be able to cope up with the additional courses and try to focus only on the departmental courses ignoring the electives. This will undermine the effect of the additional courses and might not be fruitful. Even though this may be true, there are 3 important reasons why the universities should encourage open-electives.

Firstly, in recent years, there has been a tremendous growth in jobs requiring more than one specific skill set. For example, some doctors are now learning artificial intelligence to assist them understand the complexity of human anatomy. Radiologist are using deep learning systems to map MRI and detect infections in chest X-rays. This goes to show that one should learn new things from outside their field of study. The addition of new knowledge will eventually help the person in his or her current field and he or she can potentially develop novel ways to solve challenges.

Secondly, the addition of new courses might help students discover their liking towards other subjects as well. For example, an physics major student while studying about computer science as an elective finds it to be extremely interesting and might want to dive deep into this field. The addition of this course helped him realise his lover for computer science. Maybe after his graduation, he takes up MOOC courses for computer science and lands himself a job as a software developer. Maybe one student who is struggling as a maths major takes up a fashion design elective and finds him/her actually being very good at it. This shows that by expanding the horizon of knowledge, the students can discover their true passion.

Finally, the new courses will also promote exchange of ideas from one field of study to another. The physics major students taking up painting as an extra elective will discuss their field of study with others in that class and this diversity of different streams will encourage healthy exchange of ideas. The class discussions will be fun and students from different streams might collaborate and develop projects. For example if the task is to develop an application which helps students buy books online, the art major student can design the graphics needed for the frontend of the application while the computer science student can develop the backend of the software. This collaboration might result in novel ways to solve problems and students can learn a lot from this exchange of ideas.

In conclusion, the universities should encourage addition of courses outside the students’ field of study. This will help students use this new knowledge in their jobs and discover their passion and love for other subjects. The new courses will also promote an exchange of ideas between different departments which will prove to be very essential for the development of the students.