Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

When I attended my university of choice I originally had the intent to study in a field that would be lucrative upon graduation, however, during my studidies I discovered another passion ,leadership, and it was becuase of the diverse exposure the school offered me that I am as successful as I am today. I strongly agree with the statement that "Universities should require students to study outside of their desired field". I agree with the statement due to the following three reasons; A diverse field of study will ensure that students are exposed to variety of fields and help ensure they are passionate in their selected field, and a diverse exposre to ideas will prepare them for changing worlds and changing industries.

Passion is imnportant. Workers who are passionate about their choice of career are more successful and productive than workers that are not across multiple industries. Universities that expose their students to a variety of ideas and fields will allow students to be sure in their choice of career and possible determine if their passions lie elsewhere. These students, passionateand more secure in their selections of career, would be better prepared to move forward and life and be successful in the workforce.

The level at which the world is advancing is astonishing. Every field of work and study changes rapidly in unpreidectable ways. To keep up and be successful in the workers must be able to process a variety of ideas and new information. If these workers as students were not exposed to ideas and schools of thought outside their field they could become to niche and find themselves unable to adapt; if students were exposed to a variety of ideas at their universities they would be able to process and incorporate new information. The best method to teach this flexibility is for universities to require a variety of subjects to be studied in school.

Students who graduated in 2009 in the United States of America were faced with a unforseen phenomena, for which our culture had not thought to prepare them. Graduate of this year found themselves entering the workforce during an economic recession that resulted many jobs dissapearing. For these students, those that were flexible found themselves in industries different than the focus of their coursework. Students that did not have this flexibility quickly found themselves unemployed or underemployed. It is imperative that universites teach a variety of topics to each student to create flexible graduates that can survive after graduation, no matter the health of the economy.

Some parties might state that the recent increases in tuition and operating costs of universites can be attributed to the bloated coursework required. These parties seek to reduce the number of classes required to just that in the sudents desired field of study to reduce costs and solve an unrelated issue, that is the increase in student loans for each student. I would argue that this may be benifiecial in reducing overhead, but could result in more negative outcomes if students are unable to find work in a changing society and are unable to repay their loans. The world is constantly changing and workers must be passionate and flexible to survive in it. Universities requiring exposere to borad fields of study would ensure that students will be prepared to succeed in the world.