When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

The author in the statement implies that in a face-off between urban development and historical preservation, urban development should take precedence. Tearing down of these historical relics would be justified if the same land can be utilized to serve the needs of the modern society. There argument is rife with several assumptions and unless these are explored, the debate cannot be completely settled. While the author no doubt believes that the solution of replacing old buildings with modern ones is a more practical one, a well defined policy necessitates a more holistic view to ensure that the policy accords with reasons of the majority.

The foremost assumption implicit in the statement is that there is a paucity of land and other areas cannot be utilized for requirements as the modern planners intend. While it is true that with increasing population and immigration has resulted in higher infrastructural demands, it is also true that that vast areas in any major world city are poorly planned. If these unorganized areas were to be restructured then the land could be better utilized and historical architecture would not need to be demolished. It is also possible to extend the official limits of a city to accommodate the demands of urban migration. Both these alternate solutions need to be considered before the more drastic step as proposed by the author.

The authors view also belies an outlook that regards historical buildings and architecture as having little more than aesthetical value. This outlook however is a very narrow one and it undervalues the importance of historical buildings from an economic, pedantic and cultural aspect. Historical buildings are thriving hubs of economic activity and attract a large number of tourists from across the world, contributing the nations GDP. The economic gains are not limited to ticket sales, but its value is derived also from the employment it provides to a large number of ancillary services. Additionally these ancestral heritages are gold mines of learning to a large cross section of people, from children to architects and history aficionados. In their absentia, we would feel a cultural void and cities would become little more than concrete jungles with dispassionate modern architecture. These other uses of historical buildings are so important in fact that UNESCO has designated many sites as world heritage and any alteration to these by any human acitivity is not permissible.

The third assumption is that the requirements of modern planners preclude any means of co-existence and it is only in the absence of one that the other can proliferate. Many heritage sites however serve the needs of the modern society be it commercial or residential. Connaught place in New Delhi, India, for instance is a large commercial as well as residential hub. At the same time the supreme court’s ruling ensures that the buildings are preserved and no changes to the façade is made.

In light of the above arguments, it has been established that there is no justifiable reason to replace old buildings with new ones. The solution to the needs of the modern man need to be looked elsewhere and not on the legacy of our ancestors.