The widespread idea that people should make self-improvement a primary goal in their lives is problematic because it assumes that people are intrinsically deficient.

No one is born a perfectionist or you can say no one is with born perfection of ideas or skills. A person has to acquire skills through experience and hard work. However, if a person will consider himself as perfect and will be resistant to change and acquire more skills then he/she will face very difficulties in achieving what he/she desires. Therefore, I definitely do not concur with the statement that the goal of self-improvement makes people feel to think that they are intrinsically deficient.

A skilled person is the one who is always ready to learn something new in order to take one step ahead towards excellence and not the one who is so pompous about his skills. A person who is overly proud of his/her achievements or a person who is afraid of self-improvements because it will show that he/she does not have entire knowledge will be in a tremendous loss. Because a person who is more adaptable to change and will to improve at every point of time will surely leave the pompous person behind.

The time will never stop and nor the people following the time. Change in time will lead to a change in technology and ideas. If a person is willing to accept the change and mold himself according to it then only he/she can make harmony with the changing world. Self-improvement helps you to analyze yourself at every crucial step that you take in your life. For example, Virat Kohli is an Indian cricketer. He bats in the middle order for the India cricket team. England bowlers troubled Virat by there outswing bowling but the dedication and determination of self-improvement made him a better batsman and he scored a hundred runs in the next match.

Self-improvement not only defines the learning curve of the individual who is open to self-inspection, but it encourages others also to improve themselves rather than picking out mistakes in others. No one can know you better than yourselves because you may lie to others about your achievements but you can not lie to yourself. I a person is analyzing his/her own mistake then it will be easier for him/her to overcome the difficulties he/she is facing. There is a possibility that he/she may feel reluctant in sharing those difficulties with others because they may feel they are inferior to others but option for self-improvement is never ruled out. For he/she to excel in that field self-improvement is needed the most.

Hence, the idea people are developing that self-improvement make people assume that they are intrinsically deficient is not apt. On the other hand, it provides wider scope for success in their life.