Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

"As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate."

Technology has definitely shaped the world we live in. It has given us access to people and places we could not have thought possible before. However, is it deteriorating our thought process? Technological advances help to decrease human labor. It lowers the time we spend on daily tasks and transfers that to tasks that can help better the world. Furthermore, it expands our horizons. However, some technology does make us too dependent.

Technological advances were seen to bring a prominent change during the industrial revolution. Compare how the slaves in Egypt built the pyramids, and how we build our buildings now. Due to the inventions of machines, the need for harsh human labor has decreased tremendously. Furthermore, the pace and efficiency at which products are made has allowed firms to reach people from all over the world, and at greater quantity.

Inventions of many machineries have allowed us to lower the time we spend on daily task such as cooking, cleaning, and transportation. Technological inventions such has the microwave or oven allows us to spend more than less the time heating up food in comparison to heating it up using a coal-run stove. Furthermore, we are able to travel a greater distant faster, allowing people the option to live further away from work or school.

Furthermore, technology helps to better our lives and expand our ideas. The invention of apps allow us not only to find the closest food or clothing outlet, or transportation; it can help save our lives. There are many apps out there that can instantly contact the local authorities in case of an emergency. Additionally, there are apps that can help track your location so your friends know where you are at all time if you are traveling somewhere unknown alone.

However, technology does create some sort of dependency. Students are seen more inclined to use calculators even for the simplest math. It is as if we have lost faith in our intelligence and are addicted to the idea of “100 percent accuracy”.

Technology definitely changes how we live our lives. Whether we like it or not everything we do now-from cooking, transportation, or running the economy-technology allows a means of a better standard of living. It can also help to save or defend our lives. However, it has its down sides; it can be addicting. We trust technologies to give us a near perfect score, which can often blind side us.