Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide

whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to

these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a citizen to Preston County.

"It has been observed over the past three years that the reports of damage and destruction of public

property have steadily increased in Preston County. At the same time, it has been noted that there is

a sudden increase in out-of-state travelers who have moved to Preston County over the past few

years. Many citizens of the county believe that these migrants are responsible for increased

incidences of vandalism. We therefore recommend that the county government should take firm

steps to lessen the number of out-of-state migrants in order to prevent further destruction of public

property and reestablish civic order in Preston County.

damage and destruction of public property often impacts the local comunity negatively, for example, the cost of fixing these damages have to be borned by the taxes payed by the locals. damages to certain public objects, like public telephones may hinder or permanently damage the functionality of that public object, thereby reducing the quality of infrastructure available for the locals. The letter written to the editor of preston county has a multitude of assumptions which need to be resolved before further steps can be taken. ( irrelevant)

before taking any actions on the immigrants for the damage and destruction of public proerty, it is imperative to ascertain the source of such incidences. The letter assumes that only humans are responsible for the increased in the incidences of damage and destruction of public property. However, this assumptions may be wrong as these incidences of destruction of property can be caused by a multitude of other sources like bad weather or wild animals.

Furtheremore, even if we assume that these incidences are due to malacious human activities, the letter does not provide concrete evidence that it is due to the immigrants that the number of of incidences of vandalisms have increased. there may be some local socio-political demands of the locals that may not have been met due to which such incidences abound.

Moreover, the county itself may have increased drastically in size over the past three years. this could mean a larger public infrastructure was constructed by the local authorities to support the ever growing propulation. if the population and size of the county has increased, it would be natural for the incidences of vandalisms to increase in number. we must first discern the number of incidences per resident in the county. if such a number has remained constant, it could mean that immigrants are not the source of the problem. In fact, the problem of vandalism may seem larger only because the county itself has grown and that the increase in the instances of vandalism may be in proportion to the increase in the size of the county.

Lastly, I would say there are a plethora of questions to be answered before any concrete plan of actions can be formed. Likewise, it is evident that without ascertaining the above points, it would be premature to take any actions against the immigrants of the preston county.