Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. While some people believe that international sporting events create problems, others believe they can bring significant benefits.

The international sporting event is one of the most popular event which always attract many spectators all around the world so that many countries always want to become host country. In my view, this is a great opportunity for the host country to gain important advantages. However, many issues in the organization and management stage will directly affect quality of event.

First of all, international sporting events contribute to growth of tourism industry. Accordingly, a large amount of tourists increase dramatically during the event period. Additionally, they tend to choose a journey which combined taking parting the event with travelling in the host country in several day. Besides, the host country will earn a giant profit in finance. Because of highly increasing demand in the event period, the development of tourism will lead to development of other services about food and beverage, accommodation, entertainment. Tourists willing to spent a lot for their vacation.

On the other hand, these events will be in risk of complaint about organisation. The government invest a large amount of budget in preparing for the event such as upgrading the stadium, improving infrastructure, setting up some outdoor decorations so people desire the event can be more successful than their expectation. Therefore, the success of event is based on the effectiveness of organization and management phase. Moreover, security concern is a serious problem in the event period. It’s a chance for many crimes like theft, terrorism, gambling which happened easily. The security management become more difficult because the number of participants is oversized.

On the whole, the organisation of the international sporting event positively create many opportunities in economy of host country. Besides, the host country should consider some threatens which can affect the event in order to have a careful preparation for a successful event.