Nowadays, distance-learning programs are commonplace, but some people argue that they are not as good as those attending in a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is only in the recent era that distance-learning are available. With the advancement of technology, distance learning has now becoming possible and are getting popular among those who wants to obtain an overseas qualification without going to overseas itself. However, some people still question the quality that a distance-learning could provide and claim that its still better off attending lecture in person. While I agree with that statement, I believe that distance-learning has its own quality and uniqueness to perform.

There are varieties of reason why people still choose distance-learning over attending a lecture. Firstly, distance-learning is very easy and convenient to perform. With the availability of internet and a computer, one can already excess into their lecture unlike attending lecture in university, where you have to spend you time in commuting as well as spending time on transport. Apart from that, distance-learnig does not normally have a fixed time for the class to commence. This means to say, it enable students to set their own time-table at their own convenient time which may bring some advantages for people who have other commitment to fulfill. Next, as studying overseas may be costly, distance-learning provide one’s to obtain an overseas qualification from their own country without having to spend on expenses and other cost of living which may be unaffordable for some. Lastly, distance-learning could provide benefit for students from facing the hassle one could obtain from leaving alone in foreign country such as language barrier, unfamiliar culture,environment and weather as well as homesickness.

However, it is undeniable that there are qualities that a distance-learning could not provide but to attend a lecture in person. As by attending a lecture, student are occupied with an active interaction between student and a teacher engaging actively in the class which make learning more interesting to perform. In this way, student are able to retain knowledge better than a distance-learning which only depend on own reading to understand a lecture. In addition, as distance-learning depend mainly on internet connection, a lecture or a discussion could be paralyze if the internet connection is down and that they could not meet their lecturer in person compare to those who attend university that they can meet their lecturer anytime.

In conclusion, there are convincing argument as why attending a lecture is still more beneficial compare to distance-learning. In my opinion, it does not matter on where we study as what matter is the knowledge itself and how we can utilise our knowledge wisely.