Some governments say how many children a family can have in their country. They may control the number of children has through taxes. It is sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way.Do you agree or disagree?

With increasing population the facilities and resources a government should provide also go up. As a result some countries have introduced new rules and regulations to control the population within the country. One of such ways is to limit the number of children a family can have, through taxes. I do not see this as an ethical solution.

In any society, people are financially different; there are rich and poor people. Even though by limiting the number of children in a family through taxes, rich people have the luxury of paying the tax and have the number of children they would like to. Therefore poor people are the ones who will suffer from this tax. Rich or poor, everyone should have equal rights on deciding how many children they want.

Another social problem which comes into picture with this is that more women will seek the help of abortion. This will put mothers' and children's lives into danger. Indeed this will create more complications and issues in personal lives, physically and mentally, and within the society.

I agree to the fact that population needs to be controlled, but it should not be through rules or taxes. Government needs to educate people about consequences with increasing population and how to prevent these problems. As an example they can involve doctors and nurses to conduct health camps and make people aware of the importance of birth control. And in secondary education they can educate young children about arising population issues.

With above mentioned viewpoints my opinion is, a government should not control the population through taxes or rules but through more ethical ways. It is unfair for people and might lead to more social and health problems. It should be each individuals choice to decide if they want more children or not.