Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good member of society. Other, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to either parents or school should be responsible for children’s education to be good member of society. This essay will examine this question from both points of views and I will give my own perspective on this matter.

On one hand some people argue that parents ought to be responsible to educate children to to be ready to enter the society. The main reason is that parents spend the longest time with their children from their birth. It is no doubt that parents influenced children on various aspects, not only in basic life skills but also in ethics. Mostly, more or less, children will resemble their parents’ behaviors in many ways. However, if parents themselves cannot behave well, it will be difficult for their children to learn how to be a moral citizen to a great extent.

One the other hand, others agree with that the schools play a more important role in educating children. After attending school, they children will spend most of their time with teachers and classmates. At school, they will not only acquire academic knowledge, but also learn social skills such as teamwork, cooperation which are imperative to their future development. School is like regarded as a mini society, and students here learn how to be a good person and how to work with other people. making them fully prepared for the real society

In my opinion, both points have their merits. On balance , however, I tend to believe that both sides have its own role, so we can not separate each from the other. Therefore, to teach a child to be a good person to society, both parents and school should do their job well.