Advantages and disadvantages of mobile phones in our daily lives

Smartphones have become indispensable gadgets in today’s world. Despite they can bring countless positive elements into individuals’ life, they have some drawbacks. I would argue that benefits of smartphones are overshaded by their downsides. This essay will explain briefly.

On the one hand, smartphone usage has countless benefits. To begin with, it enables employees work unplugged. They can send or read e-mails via their phones while shopping at mall, waiting meals at restaurant or even driving. Further and more importantly, it provides visual communication. Counterparts can arrange a meeting online even though they live in completely different continents or family members are able to meet via applications such as Zoom or Skype. Therefore, having a smartphone will be beneficial for people.

On the other hand, smartphone usage can lead to many detrimental problems. One of the primary disadvantages is that the cost of smartphone is vigorously more expensive than landline cost. When people purchase a smartphone, internet and music applications are generally needed that will rise cost dramatically. It is also distractive. Smartphone users can receive a lot of notifications form applications like Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp consequently it can be difficult to concentrate on work. Further and more importantly, many people prefer spending time online rather than spending time with family which damage fabric of society. Communication of family members in the same house can be minimum because of mobile phone addiction. Hence, if people own a gadget, they will probably face with many difficulties.

By way of conclusion, visul communication and online working are two primary benefits of smartphone ownership. However, it has many economical and social drawbacks, consequently I would contend that advantages of it are eclipsed by downsides.