Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

The expansion of advertisements in today’s society is becoming more and more of a topic of debate. Although there are clearly some negative impacts of this phenomenon on people’s life, I am of the opinion that advertisements produce a wide range of undeniable advantages.

The argument that advertising poses as a detrimental development is true to some extent. This could be explained by the fact that many companies today choose to create advertisements as a way to encourage consumerism among the masses. This is not to mention that many products are portrayed on screen as some must-haves in order to truly feel content with oneself. For example, there are ads targeting young women as well as teenage girls featuring models in glamorous clothing or fancy jewelry living their best lives. Often, these ads will convince them that in order to be like those models, they should at least wear what the models are wearing. As as result, a number of people will end up with purchases, which are not entirely required on a daily basis.

On the other hand, the idea that advertisements are becoming more and more common is attractive due to various reasons. The first reason for this is the fact that advertising has become increasingly fundamental in modern business, promoting the growth of the economy. This is because advertising acts as a medium between businesses and consumers, allowing more products of a particular business to become widely known by the public, which ultimately encourages its overall consumption. Another point worth mentioning is that by advertising, companies now have a drive to produce better quality products or services before presenting them to the public as well as being honest about them. This is due to the fact that consumers are now allowed access to a large variety of specific products or services from several companies. As a result, if companies provide consumers with untruthful information about their product's quality, it is obvious that they will eventually be given the cold shoulder, which will affect greatly their chances of survival in today’s extremely competitive market.

To conclude, while there are clearly drawbacks regarding the negative impacts of advertising, it seems to me that the advantages of this notion are far more significant. It can be predicted that advertising will engage even further in the public’s development in the near future.