After high school graduation, students should take a vacation or a job for a year before they enter college. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether or not taking a gap year benefits students is considered as one of the most controversial issues nowadays. Although there is a school of thought that learners should continue taking university courses immediately after their graduation to save up time, I totally dissent with the idea. In my humble opinion, learners had better take a gap year in order to relax, remotivate themselves and take some part time jobs.

First and foremost, taking a gap year really helps student to wipe out their stress. In this break time, students don’t need to go to school and face with stressful academic program. Moreover, they can use this chance to take vacation which will effectively broaden their horizons, as well as pouring fresh air to their mind. Take my friend, Jack, as an example. While everyone in my class felt so lethargic to begin this school year, he was absolutely energetic and competitive at the beginning. To reply to everyone’s surprise, he said: “Had not I experienced the memorable trip to China, I would not have so much strength and motivation to start my new academic year like that.”

Secondly, it is considered as a conventional picture that when people need to make a big decision about what field to strictly follow in a four-year tertiary program , they really should spend some time to take a part time job which is related to their options. After a short trial, they will have a closer career’s understanding and be able to check which occupation is a ultimate choice for them. Lucky enough, I also experienced in the same situation once. After high school graduation, I took an academic break and worked as a teacher assistant. Then I met Shanny, who was my supervisor, and learnt lots of valuable things from him. He taught me many tips to manage the class, to let your students understand the lessons clearly, etc. I was totally inspired and finally I decided to become a student of University of Pedagogy.

To recapitulate, it is clear that people who intelligently choose to travel or take part time job before they enter college have more chances to build up motivation and experience for their long term goals. Therefore, I wholeheartedly believe taking 1-year school break is an ideal choice for anyone who strive for their slashing triumph in both academics and life.