The aging population is good for business the economy and society Others disagree Discuss both views and give your opinion

Opinions diverge on whether the elderly population brings the merits for business, the economy and society. Although this stance can be justified to some certain extent, I am at loggerheads owing to some rational reasons.

It is admitted that when people get older, they have a tendency to halt their professional life and step back in order to dedicate the remainder of their life to society without profit, specifically, volunteering. After retirement, the elderly are willing to contribute free labor for the community such as cleaning the streets, taking care of babies, etc.. For example, in a family, when both parents have hectic schedules in the whole week and they have little time for their kids, old people can take the responsibility for looking after children. That can create a premise for the society to go on developing.

On the other hand, the great proportion of the old people can be a huge burden on the pension system. That can be explained by the fact that when people step into retirement time, they will receive an allowance from the government. Perceptibly, the society accepts to lose a gargantuan amount of money for this throng. Moreover, the elderly fail to directly contribute to the country’s prosperity since they are over the legal working age. Therefore, once the rate of aged people in a particular country constitutes a critical part of the population, it means this nation suffers from the severe lack of labor force. As a result, less innovation will take place and the community become less dynamic and scarcely stay competitive.

To sum up, I still hold onto the notion that the aging population can cause detrimental problems to society, though it also leads to some benefits.