The amount of time spend on sport and exercise should be increased in school in order to tackle the problem of overweight children?

Do you think this the best way to deal with the problem?

What other solution can you suggest?

K.W.

One of today’s most controversial issues about health is overweight, as the result of overeating and less exercise, especially among children in developed countries. Overweight makes the risk to become crucial disease very higher. With easy access to a variety of food, more and more people eat for joy over the necessity. Also, development of transportation and wide-spread indoor entertainment like video game and internet shortened the time which children spend on physical activity. If it is because, this paper discusses if the often-proposed solution that school expand the time for sport and exercise is useful and if there is another way to solve this problem.

I really think increasing the opportunity to do exercise and sport is one of good ways to improve exercise habit though healthy eating is needed to foster as well. As children spend almost half of their active time in school, school gives a crucial influence on their behavior both in and out of class. I mean that schools should just offer various ways to play physically and let them know its enjoyability and importance rather than make children do hard exercise.

If they find a point of exercise, it will be their habit.

However, only encouraging children to work out is not enough. We have to deal with bad eating habit, too. In my opinion, programs for the first parenting today held in many places has a role for this problem. It is important for healthy eating of a child that parents understand the necessity and knowledge about it. In the society where new parents have less someone to rely on like their parents nearby, that kind of program or workshop is nice opportunity for them to acquire the awareness of healthy meal and appropriate knowledge.

In short, to deal with the problem of overeating among children, schools should expand their role to teach children joy and necessity of exercise more. In addition, it is needed to foster parents’ awareness about well-balanced, nutritious and appropriate amount of meal for children through programs for parents.