‘The best way to educate children is by using the Internet in every lesson.’

To what extent do you share this opinion? What other ways are there of making lessons effective for children?

In today's modern world, educational authorities make a frantic attempt to employ high-technology devices top educate students more efficiently. The idea of using the Internet in each lesson and course may be initially appealing, but some analysis will show that it is not the key method and that other options are preferable.

Firstly, we should ask what the purpose of enjoying the Internet in each of children's lessons would be. It may be true that it makes students access information conveniently and swiftly; nevertheless, they may consider this data overload. This takes a great deal of time and effort for children to select and recognize what, which and how much of them are required, which can cause them to feel perplexing and end up becoming disinterested in the subject. Secondly, it must be said that considering the Internet as a valid source of information is quite the wrong way of collecting data. This is because students can very easily acquire inaccurate or out-dated information online. Finally, while searching for information needed, children may face unsuitable content (e.g., violent and pornographic materials) and harmful adults (e.g., pedophiles), which has a knock-on effect on young learners such as academic failure.

On the subject of alternatives, probably the most effective would be to improve schools' labs so that students can more engage in a practical way of learning practically. This provides children with a useful experience of what they are studying rather than imagining them, which would develop their practical work. Another viable option would be increased scientific excursions, would have the benefits of ranging from face-to-face instruction and facilitating learning and communication top creating memories with their classmates. Take a real visit from the Egyptian pyramids for their history course rather than a virtual tip as a clear example.

To conclude, we have seen that using the Internet as a core educational technique for young learners in every lesson is of limited effectiveness because of its 'side effects'. Practical work and scientific trips would appear to be far more robust alternatives.