The best way to solve the world s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that increasing the price of fuel is the most effective measure to address the problems of the environment. While this approach can potentially reduce harmful fume rates by limiting the number of vehicles on the roads, I maintain that running a global awareness campaign would be a more feasible way to address the root causes of this issue.

On the one hand, raising fuel costs might decrease the amount of carbon dioxide in cities at a certain level. In reality, vehicles release vast amounts of noxious fumes into the atmosphere every second, which makes the air more noxious and more polluted. Requiring individuals to pay more for their journeys can encourage them to rely less on their private vehicles. Singapore, for instance, successfully reduced the number of private car registrations by 15% when the government implemented a 20% increase in fuel prices in 2018. As a result, commuters might have to turn to other more cost-effective and greener means of transportation, such as buses, trains, or even electric bikes, which limit the amount of harmful fumes in the air.

However, this measure does not fully address the underlying causes of environmental problems. Moreover, environment-based issues can stem from various factors, including the use of plastic bags while shopping or the use of noxious chemicals in the agricultural and industrial sectors that contaminate both land and water. Therefore, the most effective approach would be launching a worldwide program to raise consumers' awareness of the importance of environmental costs. Moreover, the program encourages institutions to use fewer chemicals and adopt greener methods of farming and manufacturing. Sweden has been implementing sustainable farming practices, such as reduced pesticide usage and organic farming, to promote biodiversity and reduce the environmental impact of agriculture. In manufacturing, the country has been investing in renewable energy and promoting circular economy principles, such as designing products for reuse and recycling.

In conclusion, while increasing fuel prices can cut emissions to some extent by discouraging individuals from using private vehicles, a global awareness campaign will be a more effective measure to mitigate the underlying causes of this problem. I am also convinced that once this approach is implemented, there will be more people perceiving the importance of environmental protection, contributing to reducing environmental issues.