Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is the fact that the number of car ownership has witnessed significant growth thanks to the development of society, leading to the heavy congestion of the traffic during thirty years in some major cities. Personally, I believe this is an urgent problem that people are faced with and the government can take some measures to encourage people to reduce the number of cars.

It is the fact that the freedom of commuting and the lack of enhancing infrastructure are the main reasons leading to the rise of car ownership. Firstly, people nowadays with the high living standards want to own a private car to make it more comfortable. Using their own cars means that they can time-saving and limit the fee for waiting for public transport on a daily basis. Secondly, the authorities do not put their attention too much on improving and developing equitable infrastructures, such as street space and alternatives. As a result, traffic congestions occur normally because the number of cars is not proportional to the available infrastructure.

However, the government can take some feasible actions to handle these problems. One of the measures is building and improving the road infrastructure to provide enough space for vehicles, minising at least the traffic jams in rush hours. Another obvious solution is raising the awareness of citizens about the serious disadvantages of using private cars and emphasizing the importance of using the public transports for commuting. The last measure that the government should do is introducing technology to manage traffic and detouring the traffic in high volume areas at specific times will help to avoid congestion.

In conclusion, the increase of car ownership has become a serious problem in some major cities that need numerous measures from the authorities to limit. Improving road infrastructure, raising the awareness of people and applying technology are the main solutions that should be done by the government.