Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think is a positive or negative development?

Since industrial revolution, development of technology and transportation have significantly changed in human life. Time and distance are no longer problems of trading which were happened in the past; therefore, people can buy similar goods almost everywhere in the world. I personally believe that it might bring positive effect to development and enhance quality of life eventhough we could not ignore that there is still bad effect to our society.

First and foremost, this trend is beneficial especially for transfer technology and knowledge. One reason for this is that main factory where commonly located in the developed countries will set standardisation of product quality; moreover, they might send some experts to branch factory around the world. Apple mobile phones company; for example, establishes the modern factories which have huge number of loyal customers in the particular country such as Indonesia. Hence, Indonesian people get new knowledges about assembling and operating sophisticated machines as though they work in USA main factory; besides, it opens new job opportunity in this country. In addition, the useful effect of this issue is that there are variety of choices. This can be attributed to the fact that myriad of product around the world easily find now in our surrounding. Food choices; for instance, we can eat western or chinese dishes without leaving our nation. Thus, there are vast options for good nutrition foods and also might improve quality of life.

Apart from those reasons, local products is threatened its existences. This can be explained by some local brands can not survive during global competition. Research carried out by statistics center in Jakarta shows that almost two thirds local textile industries in Indonesia were closed since they are not strong enough against the plenty of import products from china which are more affordable and more fashionable. It makes serious concern about losing identity.

All thinking considered, getting access to the same market has strong benefit in society; nonetheless, we could not reject that local identity has potentially eliminated if government ignore this issue.