In this developed world average life expectancy is increasing. what problems will this cause for individuals and society. suggest some measures to reduce the impact on ageing population.

A well-known age-old adage remarks that “Health is wealth”. True to that, many developed countries obviously take their national health schemes quite seriously. As a result, the overall life expectancy of the elderly has considerably improved in the modern age. However, these improvements carry their own set of difficulties, which will be discussed in detail in the below essay, as well as suggesting some measures to solve the increasing ageing crisis.

To begin with, every nation on this planet has their own percentage of aged individuals. Governments around the globe strive their best to develop and procure latest advances in health industry, in order to improve the overall well-being of the citizens, which in turn will garner them a successive win in the elections. Unfortunately, the numerous issues arising with a rise in older populace is often ignored. For instance, Countries like United Kingdom are really struggling to cater their rising geriatric demographic, despite their adequate supply of care homes, meanwhile the countries’ economy is drastically affected due to lowered retirement age. If someone retires incredibly early, they will be depending on government pension for rest of their time, thus leading to a greater financial burden.

On a deeper note, adding few more years to one’s life is a quite a bittersweet victory. Downsides include greater dependency, increasing health issues and further strain on healthcare facilities. Tackling such issues requires a dedicated effort equally divided amongst the individuals and the government. To cite an example, the ruling parties must consider extending their retirement policies, while giving an option to work after retirement, if an individual is willing. Elderly people can proactively contribute to the nation’s economy by choosing their well-versed hobbies, such as knitting or conducting online lectures, thereby adopting a lively attitude towards aging.

In conclusion, Ageing is inevitable to everyone, However Old people can greatly impact the younger generations, if they are adequately empowered.